XBLA subscriber alert: phishing emails sent to XBLA subscribers

Posted Sep 8, 2007 at 11:32AM by QJ Staff Listed in: Xbox 360 Tags: Hackers, Xbox Live Arcade
Ó


XBLA logo - Image 1 


WARNING TO ALL XBOX OWNERS
: There are recent reports of XBox Live subscribers receiving phishing emails, tricking them into sending their important account information - namely their login ID and password for their XBLA accounts. Of course, we all know what happens when a malicious script kiddie gets hold of someone else's account information.

Just so you know, here is an sample of the phishing email that all of you should be aware of:

Subject: Changes To Your Xbox Live Account

From: Xbox Support [ This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it ]

Email body: "Dear Xbox Live User, We have made many changes to everyoneÂ’s Xbox Live account, and we would like you to check out the new features! You can check out the new features by click on the link below to login and check them out! Please check out your new features to your Xbox Live account!

https://www.xbox.com/signin/"



Clicking the link at the end of the email will lead to a phishing replica of the actual Passport login page. But don't be fooled, instead of letting you log into your account, its just going to steal your login IDs and passwords.

A useful rule of thumb is to never, EVER, log in through any emails or links sent by email. Make sure you only log in through the real site only, by checking the URL of the site before you enter your information.

 
 
 

Comments

by - 2007-09-08 12:07:46
Just another scam not through 360 but through PC right ?

So its another PC scam NOT through the 360 right ?. surly NOBODY falls for this sort of scam anymore ?....
by - 2007-09-08 12:17:50
Brilliant QJ..

Post the freakin' link here instead, you know there are people stupid enough to click it and put in their info. Hell there are people who'll use it against other people. Just brilliant..
by Jobo50 - 2007-09-08 17:16:27
...

that's not the actual link, they're not THAT retarded. that's just an example e-mail containing what the email looks like. The link they gave is real... because you can't have more than 1 Xbox.com
by - 2007-09-09 08:01:28
...

They're just trying to help us numb nutz
by - 2007-09-09 14:46:51
Free Credit Card

Hello Dear Credit Card User, I would like to inform you of our offer to give you a free credit card that we pay for. Just send us your credit card number at superomgzl337hackerwtfwtfnoobzkilla@hotmail.com, Thank You!

Add New Comment




You must be logged in to post comments




Add QJ.NET
Add to My Yahoo!
Google Reader Subscribe with Bloglines
Add  to your Kinja digest Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Subscribe with Pluck RSS reader Add 'www.qj.net' to Newsburst from CNET News.com
Subscribe with SearchFox RSS del.icio.us www.qj.net
Add to Technorati Favorite! Add to My AOL
furl! it Stumble for Treehugger!