Quick Jump Daily Digest
Thank you for your interest in the Quick Jump Daily Digest. Get notified of all new content on QJ in our free Daily Digest. To subscribe, enter your email address below and click the subscribe button.
Did Sony just hotlink PSPupdates on their PSP content download site? |
Listed in: PSP Tags: Big Brother, Sony
Ó
We've gotten tips, via the comment pages of many of our PSP Updates articles - thanks to everyone, and we mean EVERYONE who sent this tip in to us!!! You guys are the best! - that Sony did...
We really still can't believe it, either. Did Sony just hotlink us on their PSP downloads page?!
We went over to the site our tipsters pointed us to, and we still cannot believe it. We took a screenshot of it, with our mouse cursor hovering over the relevant hotlink. Yes, it directs to PSP Updates! We've even pointed out what to look out for in the screenshot. Click on it to see the larger image (it's a really big image, since we had to capture the whole screen).
Is this official? And now this report's got all of us here speculating like mad. A couple of staffers are beginning to think this might be a prank, the result of someone hacking onto the Sony PSP download page. Another theory floating in the air is that Sony wants to keep a wary eye on the PSP homebrew community, sorta like Big Brother.
But what if... we've got one wild guess, we're betting it's not even likely, let alone going to happen... what if this really is from Sony, and they really and deliberately hot-linked PSP Updates? What if this means they're finally embracing homebrew, giving the green light to our entire homebrew community?
Could it be...?
Nah, probably not. Maybe not until their legal issues with Devhook are settled. Maybe not until an official press release from their PR department that declares their undying love for us. Maybe when pigs fly. It's easier to be skeptical about this.
It was a nice thought while it lasted, though. What do you guys think? Throw in your opinions, your hypotheses, your wild conspiracy theories into the air.
Oh, and in case someone "official" is reading this site right now, let's show him that we're a solid, supportive PSP-enthusiastic community.
Again, we can't say this enough: thanks to all the QJ PSP Updates readers who tipped us off to this!
| This story sucks? This story rocks! |
|
|














Comments
Reply
Reply
Somebody finding out about this. That's who.
Reply
I doubt it was a hacker, but I guess anything's possible.
Reply
psp connect isn't a Sony website. It's just made by people outside sony trying to resemble a cool looking website that looks official.
Reply
Reply
Reply
Reply
Reply
PSP Connect is a subsidiary of Connect.com which IS owned by Sony. #5 you fail at life.
Why havn't we disabled guest commenting yet?
Reply
Reply
Reply
Reply
Reply
"2005 - 2006 Sony CONNECT Inc. Reproduction in whole or part is prohibited without written permission from Sony Corporation."
Reply
Reply
Reply
Reply
or go to sonystyle
Reply
Reply
Reply
Reply
$10 says Sony realizes this and makes them change it ;) Then again, maybe Sony is trying to counter XNA or whatever that Xbox 360 Homebrew program is?
Reply
i reckon once sony get wind of this they'll act on it, whether they come out and confirm their support for homebrew and officially say how great pspupdates is... or they simply take it away from that site, slap some wrists and perhaps issue a statement saying how they don't support homebrew and everyone should do the firmware updating thing.
imo it's too early to tell. if nothing happens at all then i won't know what to think... you'd have thought that if sony have an opinion they'll let it be known
Reply
Reply
Reply
Reply
Reply
holy crap!
holy crap!
holy crap!
holy crap!
holy crap!
holy crap!
holy crap!
holy crap!
holy crap!
holy crap!
holy crap!
holy crap!
holy crap!
holy crap!
holy crap!
holy crap!
holy crap!
holy crap!
holy crap!
holy crap!
holy crap!
holy crap!
holy crap!
holy crap!
holy crap!
holy crap!
holy crap!
wow.
Reply
Reply
Reply
Reply
HEY QJ **** ** ***** ***** ****
Reply
Reply
holy crap!
holy crap!
holy crap!
holy crap!
This confirms my previous theory about Sony toying
with us, and actually secretly supporting homebrew!
they know we can crack the firmwares!
Reply
Reply
is over
Reply
Reply
Reply
someone over there either messed up, or is realizing that they need to use their edge while they stil can
Reply
Reply
"checks the site tomorow and..... PAGE CAN NOT BE FOUND"
Reply
Reply
Reply
Does the "Use it" refer to the homebrew? Since most homebrews are not games. They're utilities for the PSP.
I hope Sony supports Homebrew soon.
Reply
Reply
Reply