Guess that wasn't real: Belzar.com down and for sale

Posted Aug 26, 2009 at 9:45PM by Mabie A. Listed in: PS3 Tags: modchip
Ó


Hmmm... this sure is weird. Have you visited Belzar's domain lately? If you have, then you probably also found it odd to see the site is down, and "may be for sale by its owner". Don't believe me? Just check out this screencap (click on it for a bigger view):

Belzar.com - Image 1 


Yep, that's Belzar right there. The same Belzar.com who only recently proclaimed to the world that they are on the verge of releasing a full-fledged direct boot modchip for the PS3. The first of its kind, they said. They've already sent out the second beta of the second modchip to 50 beta testers in fact!

So, back to the screencap. What's going on? And where have they gone? Does this mean none of it was true? Why would they want to give us hope only to dash it away? Did they think it was fun? Or are they just moving on to a bigger place but will come back to deliver on the promise they made?

Well?

Meh, am not holding my breath for this one. To those who did, sorry. Better luck next time.

Thanks to elchivafighter for the tip!



Related Articles:



Via Belzar

 
 
 

Comments

by kon_e3 - 2009-08-26 21:26:42
damn wtf

NEED THAT PS3 MOD ASAP, and this doesn't increase the pace
by eaferrari24 - 2009-08-26 21:40:13
lol

this is funny! i really wanna know more details about this.. i will lol so hard if they got shutdown by sony somehow..
by jomacho0 - 2009-08-26 21:41:16
LOL

Don't hold your breath.
by Chivafighter - 2009-08-26 22:05:12
lol

Your welcome QJ Staff. But i was really hoping for something like this to be real...after i read earlier that he finished the modchip and was ready to ship them out, it got me suspicious and i checked it out and BAM, its for sell lol
by BryanNitro - 2009-08-27 00:10:43
Oh Well!!!

I really think the PS3 needs a mod chip, to tell you the truth I only think the xbox is the #1 played console it because you can mod it to play burned games "ONLINE" so Microsoft makes money either way. Sony needs it to get more people to own a PS3 they will make money in other ways.
by CaptainObvious1 - 2009-08-27 01:57:43
Alright

to quote myself from the other article; "This is the i.load all over again, you can all trust the Captain when I say that you shouldn't hold your breath on this. " The prophet, thy name is Captain.
by Silver-Tiger - 2009-08-27 02:28:21
....

you can't really play online, it won't take long until you get banned.
by Bountyhunter53 - 2009-08-27 02:59:49
Its on sale......

Its on sale for a ridiculous amount of money. They probably released the apparent "modchip" news a day before it goes on sale to boost the sites bandwidth for the day. A obvious publicity stunt.
by Skydoy - 2009-08-27 05:30:35
seously

chek it out http://belzar.com/index.html it doesent work ?????????? chek for yourself
by Kindredsupreme - 2009-08-27 06:03:39
Its working

http://belzar.com/index.html its working for me
by SuperQuest - 2009-08-27 06:20:54
But..

On the site ... The domain belzar.com MAY be for sale by its owner! What i read here is ... if you give us big money will sell are shorts too. it's says MAY be for sale. i'm sure QJ may be for sale if somebody give the right price But for the modchip i still don't beleive it ... these people don't look very professionnals
by hypercoyote360 - 2009-08-27 07:55:51
Banned....

Couldn't they just make it stealth like the other chips? I never played Xbox online or modded my 360, so I don't know how well those worked out.
by hypercoyote360 - 2009-08-27 07:59:00
DomainSquatting

Well, I guess if you're gonna domain squat, one good way to do it is generate a bunch of interest in the domain and then drop the page and post a bunch of misleading ads. I wonder how much they've made off of ad clicks so far....
by NeoHumpty - 2009-08-27 08:36:17
It's a new page

It's nothing like it was last week. The old page read like it was written by a 2nd grader, or at least someone who isn't very familiar with English, giving a poorly written "history" of the company.
by Mister Common Sense - 2009-08-27 16:07:36
.

There already is a modchip for the PS3, that supposed universal one. As far as I could tell, it does NOTHING useful on the PS3.
by Alexandre Peixoto de Andrade - 2009-08-27 19:50:56
Sony haved close this domain or hacker's atack.

I guess Sony close this site or anything or hacker haved benn atacked in search of something, or maybe their was moved for other bigest domain or i don't know. i waiting for something bigest, like the Cygnos from Xbox 360 then is been prepared for us gamers. Well let's waiting for something later... and apreciate PSP Go and PlayStation 3 Slim. All is welcome and Jack Sparrow Team too LOL.
by vizard00 - 2009-08-27 20:17:06
ok

this Modchip will bring back dimocracy to ps3 world imagine : - homebrew - emulators - ps2 for all - buckups - no lemit and upgrade downgrade on the go - 1000 GO HDD will be welcome to ps3 then lol zzzzzzzzzzzzzZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzZZZZzzzzzz whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa ,, oh that was a dream
by ThirstyCow - 2009-09-11 04:45:55
lol

lol
by - 2009-12-08 14:22:35
PS3 will never be modded

if it could have it would have been already, it would be bad a$$ to see something on the lines of the original Xbox with a full replacement Dash, XBMC, or whatever, Sony learned their lessons on the PSP and really fixed it good on the PS3, if they (the super hackers ofthe world) could have done it, they would have. either that or C4eva needs a job at sony, wtf does dark alex have to say about the ps3 cant he make shit work??? fags, thats why I own a 360 and a PSP, both moddable and way more fun.

Add New Comment




You must be logged in to post comments




Add QJ.NET
Add to My Yahoo!
Google Reader Subscribe with Bloglines
Add  to your Kinja digest Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Subscribe with Pluck RSS reader Add 'www.qj.net' to Newsburst from CNET News.com
Subscribe with SearchFox RSS del.icio.us www.qj.net
Add to Technorati Favorite! Add to My AOL
furl! it Stumble for Treehugger!