Scam Alert: fake e-mail accuses players of account trading, then asks for account information |
European Blizzard Community Manager Issuntril notes in a post in the European World of Warcraft Forums
that thanks to an intrepid player named Cawo, they are now aware that a
bogus e-mail is being sent to players claiming that they are accused of
account trading. Allegedly, the victim, er, player is required to provide
their account information to avoid a permanent ban.Issuntril confirms that this mail is not from Blizzard and he advises that all European account administration related e-mails from Blizzard come from This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it , and all mails from GMs come from This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
Oh, and as always, the golden rule should be remembered: A BLIZZARD EMPLOYEE WILL NEVER ASK YOU FOR YOUR PASSWORD!
Just to be sure, the e-mail looks like this:
It has come to our attention that you are trying to sell/trade your personal World of Warcraft account.
As you may or may not be aware of, this conflicts with the EULA and Terms of Agreement.
If this proves to be true, your account can and will be disabled. It will be ongoing for further investigation by Blizzard employee's.
Blizzard might consider taking legal actions against your crime, if it seems too be of an extreme nature.
If you wish to not get your account suspended you should immediately verify your account.
This action is taken because we at Blizzard Entertainment takes these sales
quite serious. We need to confirm you are the original owner of the account.
This is easiest done by confirming your personal information along with concealed information about your account.
You can confirm that you are the original owner of the account by replying to this email with:
Use the following template below to verify your account and information via email.
* First and Surname
* Address
* Zip code
* Phone number Daytime
* Country
* CD-key, alternative a photograph of your CD-key that is located on your manual for World of Warcraft.
* Account name
* Account password
* Secret Question and Answer
If you ignore this mail your account can and will be closed permanently
Blizzard Entertainment Europe
Account Administration Team
TSA 60 001
78143 Vélizy Villacoublay Cedex France
As soon as we have this information we will be able to progress the resolution
of this matter for you.
If you wish to review our current Rules and Polices, they can be found at:
http://www.wow-europe.com/en/policy/
Regards,
Xenkao
Account Administration Team
Blizzard Entertainment Europe
There. You've been warned.
Via WoW EU Forums
The QJ.net Network |
|
| Site | Feed |
| QJ.NET | RSS |
| Nintendo DS | RSS |
| PlayStation 3 | RSS |
| PSP Updates | RSS |
| Wii | RSS |
| Xbox 360 | RSS |
| MMORPG | RSS |
| Personal Computer Games | RSS |
| iPhone - iPod Touch | RSS |
| QJ.NET Forums | RSS |
| Most Commented | |
| NPD Study: US kids as youn.. | (43) |
| More Estavillo subpoenas -.. | (23) |
| Brazilian senator wants cr.. | (18) |
| Erik Estavillo subpoenas B.. | (11) |
| Valve looking at MMORPG sc.. | (3) |
| Watch: Guild Wars 2 'Facti.. | (2) |
December 2009
November 2009
October 2009
September 2009
August 2009
July 2009
June 2009
May 2009
April 2009
March 2009
February 2009
January 2009
December 2008
November 2008
October 2008
September 2008
August 2008
July 2008
June 2008
May 2008
April 2008
March 2008
February 2008
January 2008
December 2007
November 2007
October 2007
September 2007
August 2007
July 2007
June 2007
May 2007
April 2007
March 2007
February 2007
January 2007
December 2006
November 2006
October 2006
September 2006
August 2006
July 2006
June 2006
May 2006
April 2006
March 2006
February 2006
January 2006
Comments [refresh]
you would have to be VERY stupid to fall on that scam.//
poor idiots
I got an email saying that. OMG, i almost gave that info to them but this site just saved me!!! HOLY *****, I LOVE YOU GUYS!!! THANK YOU... phew....
OMG I JUST GOT THAT MAIL! I *****ing shat my pants!
Thank god for this site!
Who the ***** and be so dumb too fall for that.....