Curse-Gaming warns of fake email from support staff

Posted Jul 8, 2007 at 10:26PM by QJ Staff Listed in: Titles, News Tags: Blizzard, Trojan
Ó


WoW logo - Image 1From the looks of it, the Blizzard's World of Warcraft MMORPG's forums isn't the only place under siege from key-loggers and trojans. Curse-gaming - another site frequented by WoW's gaming community - has just sent out an urgent message warning members that there have been reports of emails being circulated that appear to have come from Curse's support staff.

The announcement further warned the residents that these bogus messages stated that they carried "updated addons" information, but were really links to downloads to Rapidshare servers with executables. Attempt to click on these emails, and you run the risk of having a trojan infecting your system.

As a further clarification of the fake emails, the staff indicated that only urls that carried official Curse downloads are on curse.com, cursebeta.com, or curse-gaming.com. We advise readers among the WoW gamers to take heed of this warning - keylogging's been on the rise lately, and given how much time and money are spent in creating a character for the game, it doesn't hurt to be extra careful.

Via Curse-Gaming

 
 
 

Comments

No Comments, be the first to Comment

Add New Comment




You must be logged in to post comments




Add QJ.NET
Add to My Yahoo!
Google Reader Subscribe with Bloglines
Add  to your Kinja digest Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Subscribe with Pluck RSS reader Add 'www.qj.net' to Newsburst from CNET News.com
Subscribe with SearchFox RSS del.icio.us www.qj.net
Add to Technorati Favorite! Add to My AOL
furl! it Stumble for Treehugger!